ESPN Network: | |  ABCSports |  EXPN |  INSIDER  |  FANTASY

About the BCS

Prior to the 1998 football regular season, the FedEx Orange, Nokia Sugar, Rose and Tostitos Fiesta Bowls joined with the Atlantic Coast, Big East, Big 12, Big Ten, Pacific-10 and Southeastern Conferences and the University of Notre Dame to form the Bowl Championship Series (BCS).

Last season, BCS No. 1 Miami defeated BCS No. 2 Nebraska, 37-14, in the Rose Bowl before a sellout crowd of 93,781. The Tostitos Fiesta and Sugar Bowls were also completely sold out last year. In the first BCS title game in 1998, No. 1 Tennessee defeated No. 2 Florida State, 23-16, in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl. Three years ago, No. 1 Florida State beat No. 2 Virginia Tech, 46-29, in the Nokia Sugar Bowl. Two years back, No. 1 Oklahoma defeated No. 2 Florida State, 13-2, in the FedEx Orange Bowl.

The BCS was established to determine the national champion for college football while maintaining and enhancing the bowl system which has provided significant support to college football for nearly a century. The BCS has quickly become a showcase for the sport, matching the premier teams of any particular year in the culminating games of the season.

The BCS, which runs through the 2005 regular season and 2006 bowl season, consists of the Rose Bowl, Nokia Sugar Bowl, FedEx Orange Bowl and the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl. Conferences with automatic berths include the Atlantic Coast, Big East, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-10 and the Southeastern Conferences.

The BCS also notes the importance of regional consideration regarding team selection. Specifically, as participating members of the BCS, the four BCS Bowls will host the following conference champions in the years the national championship game is not played at their site. Regional consideration tie-ins include the ACC or Big East champion in the FedEx Orange Bowl, the SEC champion in the Nokia Sugar Bowl, the Big Ten and the Pac-10 champions in the Rose Bowl and the Big 12 champion in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.

Should a BCS Bowl's regional tie-in champion be ranked number one or two in the final BCS standings, when such bowl is not hosting the national championship game, the number one or two-ranked team shall move to the national championship game and the Bowl shall select a replacement team from the BCS pool of eligible teams. The pool will consist of any Division I-A team that is ranked among the Top 12 in the final BCS standings and has achieved nine wins during the regular season excluding NCAA-exempted contests.

Through a conference revenue sharing plan, the BCS group will distribute over $40 million to non-participating BCS institutions during its eight-year history. Those monies go to Division I-A and I-AA conferences in support of the game of college football. Additionally, the BCS distributes $200,000 per year to the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame for calculating and administering the BCS Standings.

This coming season, BCS leagues will receive between $11.78 - 14.67 million depending on the conference affiliation of the at-large participants. Should the at-large participants come from outside the original BCS conferences -- ACC, Big East, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-10 or SEC -- those participants will receive $13.78 million. If one or both at-large selections come from within the original BCS group, the conference shall receive $13.54 million for the first participant and $4.5 million for the second participant from that same league. The remaining dollars (the difference between $13.54 million and $4.5 million) will be split among the BCS conferences.

2001 Season
Rose Bowl: Miami d. Nebraska, 37-14
2000 Season
FedEx Orange Bowl: Oklahoma d. Florida State, 13-2
1999 Season
Nokia Sugar Bowl: Florida State d. Virginia Tech, 46-29
1998 Season
Tostitos Fiesta Bowl: Tennessee d. Florida State, 23-16

Following 2002 Regular Season
Jan. 1, 2003 - Rose Bowl (5:00 pm ET)
Jan. 1, 2003 - Nokia Sugar Bowl (8:30 pm ET)
Jan. 2, 2003 - FedEx Orange Bowl (8:00 pm ET)
Jan. 3, 2003 - Tostitos Fiesta Bowl (National Championship - 8:00 pm ET)

Following 2003 Regular Season
Jan. 1, 2004 - Rose Bowl
Jan. 1, 2004 - FedEx Orange Bowl
Jan. 2, 2004 - Tostitos Fiesta Bowl
Jan. 4, 2004 - Nokia Sugar Bowl (National Championship)

Following 2004 Regular Season
Jan. 1, 2005 - Rose Bowl
Jan. 1, 2005 - Tostitos Fiesta Bowl
Jan. 2, 2005 - Nokia Sugar Bowl
Jan. 4, 2005 - FedEx Orange Bowl (National Championship)

Following 2005 Regular Season
Jan. 1, 2006 - Nokia Sugar Bowl
Jan. 2, 2006 - Tostitos Fiesta Bowl
Jan. 3, 2006 - FedEx Orange Bowl
Jan. 4, 2006 - Rose Bowl (National Championship)